2018 Honda Accord Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i have 2020 accord 1.5t with 3500 miles on it.
1) i have noticed that when i reach my destination and turnoff the engine, and then take off foot from brake pedal the car moves little bit forward and then settles itself.please note i dont set parking brake at this time.

2) if i set the parking brake and then release brake pedal , then car does not move.

3) this moving thing and then settling become more pertinent ,when i park downhill or uphill.

is there something to worry about?

· Administrator
2,881 Posts
If you're the original owner of the car and it's done it since purchase it may be an anomaly of the transmission. I have no experience w/the CVT transmission (mine is 10 speed auto) so I can't deny or verify if that's normal. However I can verify with my 10 speed transmission I have not experienced that. I normally park on level ground and once in park I haven't noticed any movement.

With all that said you can do as @cdwalker315 said and use your parking brake to avoid that issue. Personally I don't use the parking brake due to it being electronic... guess I'm "old school" and would prefer a cable operated parking brake versus an electrical one that if it gets stuck for any reason it's not something I can easily correct (I've not heard of this happening though).

· Registered
2019 2.0 EXL
562 Posts