2018 Honda Accord Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Day 3 and still trying to digest all of the goodies. I am a tech guy and I find it a bit challenging!

Dealer setup my iPhone initially using Bluetooth. Using iOS 11.3.1 Next day I decided to try the Apple Car Play. Sort of disappointed I have to plug it in. He told me this...Still experimenting with it and also using the standard Bluetooth system. Have been reading that not a lot of cars have a wireless (or Bluetooth) approach to Apple Car Play? Wonder if it will ever be possible? Is it a Honda limitation or a Apple limitation? I do like the Apple phone implementation and maps and read my emails and all of that. Just sort of reading and experimenting...

Once you start using Car Play, do you always have to use it? Seems like when the phone is not plugged in, the Honda system via Bluetooth seem to work ok. Manual indicates if a phone was previously paired before using Car Play, it would still work in Bluetooth mode.

One weird thing I need to check out further....Put 10-12 iTunes albums on a thumb drive to experiment. They are ACC which is the highest quality. Manual says it will handle Mp3, WMP and ACC. I plugged it it and went to that USB as source (not using Car Play) and the display kept running all of the songs in the display like it was playing all 100+ songs rapidly yet nothing played. It just kept doing this over and over. The titles were just flashing by in the display. I didn't have the iPhone plugged in, so was not invoking Car Play. Was just trying to see how it would work using the USB.

I now look on the USB and there is now a new folder labeled "LOST DIR" folder on the drive with nothing in it. The USB is formatted for FAT32, it is 32GB. Maybe the player is confused as their are folders with Artist name and within that folder are 4 albums, for example. Maybe they need to be organized in a "flat fashion", not nested folders?

Any ideas? Thx DD

·
Registered