2018 Honda Accord Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone,

Newbie here, so my apologies in advance if I'm not posting this in the right place.

'18 2.0T Touring

The WiFi in my car (one of the reasons I chose the model I did) works - barely. Whether I am in the heart of the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area with very strong AT&T 4G LTE service or in the boonies, I'm getting absolutely horrific speeds with the Hotspot service. I haven't reached out to AT&T or Honda yet ... just wondering if others are having similar problems or similar speeds? My Android phone, not pictured, is on AT&T and I'm able to pull an average of about 40mbs download when connected to LTE. My iPhone 8+, pictured below, is on the Verizon network but is connected to the AT&T Hotspot and this was the *best* I was able to get...after 20+ tests using ookla's speed test app. Have also tried on the Android (Galaxy S9+) with similar results.

Any advice?

(And yes, I know my dash is really dusty -- 3 cats and a dog!)

Thanks,
Evan

Attachments

·
Registered
318 Posts
Not sure how many owners have really tested out the Wifi performance in the Accord so far. Not sure if its something they could improve with software tweaks, or if they simply didn't use a powerful enough transmitter/receiver. Has Honda posted what sort of mbps we should be seeing?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hi Scotty,

I haven't really been able to find much on the internet about what speeds are specific to Honda vehicles. But, I do know that other vehicles with WiFi capabilities have much better performance than what I've seen. 4G LTE speeds (according to AT&T) should average about 8mbps down and 3mbps up when the hotspot has the maximum number of devices connected. With only one device connected, I have yet to see anything even remotely close to that.

Thanks!
Evan

·
Registered
44 Posts