2018 Honda Accord Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had their navigation screen to be blank and when you hit "Where To" a message pops up "Map Data Loading (also get message if I go to Settings > Map & Vehicle > Update Maps) Attachments below... I thought this was related to the rear camera update (that I haven't had done yet) that is spoke of in this thread - Rear Camera Software Update-HondaLink Notification so I tried the method discussed in this post Fuse #24 which members have been using to restore the HUD display compass.

I thought the two may have been related because of information found in Safety Recall: 2018 Accord: Rear Backup Camera document. In that document it speaks of "Navigation app crashes when using VR to add destinations or when rerouting a destination".

I'm not really sure when this feature was lost as I've been using Android Car Play & Waze for navigation for about the last month or so. Yesterday I didn't have my phone hooked up and switched to navigation and found this out.... could the use of Android Car Play & Waze have any impact/be the cause of this? TIA for any assistance.
 

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Forgot to add when trying the "Fuse #24" removal/replace it didn't correct my issue.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Nobody seen/experienced this???? Just my luck I would be the first to experience this issue. :sad:

Guess it's a trip to the dealer to get it corrected... luckily I prefer Waze as my GPS so it will not be a rush get it done. I will incorporate it in w/a service so I only have to make one trip.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
43 Posts
A map update may work to fix that depending on what caused it in the first place. I updated mine a month or so ago and it took around 30 minutes to download it to USB using the Garmin app on my PC then another hour or so in the car for the head unit to read and load the update. I would guess they could do it for you at the same time as the backup camera fix though since that probably requires reprogramming the head unit anyway.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
A map update may work to fix that depending on what caused it in the first place. I updated mine a month or so ago and it took around 30 minutes to download it to USB using the Garmin app on my PC then another hour or so in the car for the head unit to read and load the update. I would guess they could do it for you at the same time as the backup camera fix though since that probably requires reprogramming the head unit anyway.
It has the latest maps installed (did that months ago - 2019 Map Update available 15th of August) with it working fine after, also since it can't read the map data the sequence to get to updating maps "Settings > Map & Vehicle > Update Maps" will not get to "Update Maps/Start Update Process"" to read current map information/start update. Even tried "Factory Data Reset" (see below) w/no luck. :crying: What really baffles me is I honestly think it's something related to using Android Auto" (Google Maps & Waze). There have been issues noted in other threads w/using Apple Car Play and it's making me wonder if the system for whatever reason isn't as "compatible" as Honda is promoting.:plain:
 

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Update: Thanks to suggestion from member @TheAsian I was able to correct this problem by doing a factory reset to the infotainment center (see attachment) to get the map data to load. Did have to repair my phone, reset "Home" location in GPS (and add back any other saved locations), reset my preset XM stations (FM stations weren't lost in the reset though), reset my personalized sound settings (Bass/Treble/Etc.), reinstall Wallpaper that I had loaded. Those are all that I have found so far but at least I got issue resolved.

Hopefully this was an isolated incident and it will not happen again... Honda is aware of it and an update may be released in the future to correct it.

BTW while doing some research on this problem I found an interesting video on YouTube regarding how to reset the infotainment center on a six-speed manual transmission Accord -

Since I don't have the six-speed I can't verify that this would have resolved my issue but it is something those of you that have a six-speed may want to try if you ever have this issue. Doing it this way it appears you will not loose your personal settings that will be lost doing the factory reset.
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
Nobody seen/experienced this???? Just my luck I would be the first to experience this issue. :sad:

Guess it's a trip to the dealer to get it corrected... luckily I prefer Waze as my GPS so it will not be a rush get it done. I will incorporate it in w/a service so I only have to make one trip.
Good luck man. I think we all have a recall on the back up camera. Mines is working fine as of today, so my plan is NOT to let them do a repair until something comes up. It takes 1.5-2 hours to set everything back up.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Good luck man. I think we all have a recall on the back up camera. Mines is working fine as of today, so my plan is NOT to let them do a repair until something comes up. It takes 1.5-2 hours to set everything back up.
Thanks... I was able to resolve it on my own (see post #6)… wasn't as bad as I thought it to restore stuff that was reset... I am making a list of the items (and their/my setting of them) that need to be restored after a reset. I still have to get the back up camera recall done... so if things are reset I'll know what my settings are and where to go to restore them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
I have a 2019 Touring model. About 2 months ago I encountered the “Loading Map Data” issue as described in the original post PLUS I lost the Compass (and of course the TurnByTurn) in the HUD. The latter I depend on more than the Navi maps as a big Waze fan.

I did find a solution that I did not see posted in this thread or anywhere else for that matter.

The solution to remove the ground connections from the the battery did not bring any relief although it did appear to force the Infotainment system to reboot. No rain.

I loathed the thought of turning it over to the service center knowing that they would reset all of the settings to the Factory Defaults. They seem to do this instead of reading the service manual or seeking help in the KnowledgeBase. It never solves any issue that I’ve brought to them. It just gives me a rash with the time wasted in reprogramming all of the options. It never ends up being the same car functionally after each programming session.

The initial call to the service center started with a familiar answer; “No, we’ve never heard of such a problem reported before.” They recommended that I bring the car by to speak with a technician, or set an appointment (so they could reset to the factory default setting.) Shortly after the call I was contacted via email from a technician and after a series of message exchanges (including sharing a link to this post) he responded with the following steps;

SETTINGS > SYSTEM > DETAIL INFO > APP MANAGER > NAVIGATION > STORAGE > CLEAR DATA.
THEN RETURN HOME AND VERIFY NAVIGATION IS WORKING PROPERLY

This appears to clear data from the Garmin app only and leaves the other settings intact. Much to my relief this brought back both the Garmin and the HUD compass and navigation-linked displays.

Oddly enough there was ~89mb used by the Garmin app before I cleared the data, and 79mb available after the reset (with zero used). I had one address saved in the Garmin app and less than 9k miles on the car.

4167
1F6387BE-DD95-4202-99A1-E57A89014BB5.jpeg
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I have a 2019 Touring model. About 2 months ago I encountered the “Loading Map Data” issue as described in the original post PLUS I lost the Compass (and of course the TurnByTurn) in the HUD. The latter I depend on more than the Navi maps as a big Waze fan.

I did find a solution that I did not see posted in this thread or anywhere else for that matter.

The solution to remove the ground connections from the the battery did not bring any relief although it did appear to force the Infotainment system to reboot. No rain.

I loathed the thought of turning it over to the service center knowing that they would reset all of the settings to the Factory Defaults. They seem to do this instead of reading the service manual or seeking help in the KnowledgeBase. It never solves any issue that I’ve brought to them. It just gives me a rash with the time wasted in reprogramming all of the options. It never ends up being the same car functionally after each programming session.

The initial call to the service center started with a familiar answer; “No, we’ve never heard of such a problem reported before.” They recommended that I bring the car by to speak with a technician, or set an appointment (so they could reset to the factory default setting.) Shortly after the call I was contacted via email from a technician and after a series of message exchanges (including sharing a link to this post) he responded with the following steps;

SETTINGS > SYSTEM > DETAIL INFO > APP MANAGER > NAVIGATION > STORAGE > CLEAR DATA.
THEN RETURN HOME AND VERIFY NAVIGATION IS WORKING PROPERLY

This appears to clear data from the Garmin app only and leaves the other settings intact. Much to my relief this brought back both the Garmin and the HUD compass and navigation-linked displays.

Oddly enough there was ~89mb used by the Garmin app before I cleared the data, and 79mb available after the reset (with zero used). I had one address saved in the Garmin app and less than 9k miles on the car.

View attachment 4167 View attachment 4167
Thanks for the info, glad this option worked for you. Luckily I haven't had this issue again (hopefully I haven't jinxed myself) but if I do I now have options.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Just had this issue. Same as OP. Blank screen and no compass. Tried using the above method and had succcess!! Thanks for your help!


SETTINGS > SYSTEM > DETAIL INFO > APP MANAGER > NAVIGATION > STORAGE > CLEAR DATA.
THEN RETURN HOME AND VERIFY NAVIGATION IS WORKING PROPERLY
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
You are not alone! I have exactly the same problem in my 2018 Honda Accord Touring.

Michael

Nobody seen/experienced this???? Just my luck I would be the first to experience this issue. :sad:

Guess it's a trip to the dealer to get it corrected... luckily I prefer Waze as my GPS so it will not be a rush get it done. I will incorporate it in w/a service so I only have to make one trip.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
You are not alone! I have exactly the same problem in my 2018 Honda Accord Touring.

Michael
Hopefully you read reply #9 above to remedy this situation as this is a better way to do it than what I used.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Thanks so much. I had missed the post -- somehow -- and the proposed solution worked for me!

Michael
Good deal, glad it worked out for you. (y)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Thanks so much for this post. I had the same blank screen issue on my 2018 Touring and was dreading doing a factory Reset. The directions you gave below worked like a charm


SETTINGS > SYSTEM > DETAIL INFO > APP MANAGER > NAVIGATION > STORAGE > CLEAR DATA.
THEN RETURN HOME AND VERIFY NAVIGATION IS WORKING PROPERLY
I have a 2019 Touring model. About 2 months ago I encountered the “Loading Map Data” issue as described in the original post PLUS I lost the Compass (and of course the TurnByTurn) in the HUD. The latter I depend on more than the Navi maps as a big Waze fan.

I did find a solution that I did not see posted in this thread or anywhere else for that matter.

The solution to remove the ground connections from the the battery did not bring any relief although it did appear to force the Infotainment system to reboot. No rain.

I loathed the thought of turning it over to the service center knowing that they would reset all of the settings to the Factory Defaults. They seem to do this instead of reading the service manual or seeking help in the KnowledgeBase. It never solves any issue that I’ve brought to them. It just gives me a rash with the time wasted in reprogramming all of the options. It never ends up being the same car functionally after each programming session.

The initial call to the service center started with a familiar answer; “No, we’ve never heard of such a problem reported before.” They recommended that I bring the car by to speak with a technician, or set an appointment (so they could reset to the factory default setting.) Shortly after the call I was contacted via email from a technician and after a series of message exchanges (including sharing a link to this post) he responded with the following steps;

SETTINGS > SYSTEM > DETAIL INFO > APP MANAGER > NAVIGATION > STORAGE > CLEAR DATA.
THEN RETURN HOME AND VERIFY NAVIGATION IS WORKING PROPERLY

This appears to clear data from the Garmin app only and leaves the other settings intact. Much to my relief this brought back both the Garmin and the HUD compass and navigation-linked displays.

Oddly enough there was ~89mb used by the Garmin app before I cleared the data, and 79mb available after the reset (with zero used). I had one address saved in the Garmin app and less than 9k miles on the car.

View attachment 4167 View attachment 4167
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I have a 2019 Touring model. About 2 months ago I encountered the “Loading Map Data” issue as described in the original post PLUS I lost the Compass (and of course the TurnByTurn) in the HUD. The latter I depend on more than the Navi maps as a big Waze fan.

I did find a solution that I did not see posted in this thread or anywhere else for that matter.

The solution to remove the ground connections from the the battery did not bring any relief although it did appear to force the Infotainment system to reboot. No rain.

I loathed the thought of turning it over to the service center knowing that they would reset all of the settings to the Factory Defaults. They seem to do this instead of reading the service manual or seeking help in the KnowledgeBase. It never solves any issue that I’ve brought to them. It just gives me a rash with the time wasted in reprogramming all of the options. It never ends up being the same car functionally after each programming session.

The initial call to the service center started with a familiar answer; “No, we’ve never heard of such a problem reported before.” They recommended that I bring the car by to speak with a technician, or set an appointment (so they could reset to the factory default setting.) Shortly after the call I was contacted via email from a technician and after a series of message exchanges (including sharing a link to this post) he responded with the following steps;

SETTINGS > SYSTEM > DETAIL INFO > APP MANAGER > NAVIGATION > STORAGE > CLEAR DATA.
THEN RETURN HOME AND VERIFY NAVIGATION IS WORKING PROPERLY

This appears to clear data from the Garmin app only and leaves the other settings intact. Much to my relief this brought back both the Garmin and the HUD compass and navigation-linked displays.

Oddly enough there was ~89mb used by the Garmin app before I cleared the data, and 79mb available after the reset (with zero used). I had one address saved in the Garmin app and less than 9k miles on the car.

View attachment 4167 View attachment 4167
Mine started doing this earlier today. Your method worked on the first time. Thank you!
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top